Here we will go over Michigan cannabis laws and how to stay legal as a consumer.
As of November 2018, recreational and medical marijuana is legal for qualified individuals, and the state’s consumption rates have been rapidly increasing every year since.
If you use cannabis in Michigan or plan to in the future, keep reading to find out how to do so legally.
In Michigan, residents over 21 may participate in recreational use. However, medical marijuana patients must have a qualifying condition, be 18 years old, or be a minor with two doctor recommendations and parental permission.
Qualifying conditions are:
- ALS or Lou Gehrig’s disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Nail-patella syndrome
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Seizures or epilepsy
- Severe and chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms or multiple sclerosis
Keep in mind that Medical marijuana card holders must renew their card every two years.
Purchasing and Selling
In Michigan, dispensaries are called provisioning centers, and these licensed centers are the only places to purchase cannabis legally.
Remember the following laws when buying, selling, and gifting cannabis:
- The state has moved to prohibit the sale of THC products in gas stations or retail stores.
- Both residents and travelers over the age of 21 may purchase cannabis at a provisioning center.
- Consumers may purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana per day but not exceed 10 ounces in a month.
- Adult consumers may transfer up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana to another adult as long as nothing of value is received in return.
It is a felony to sell an amount of cannabis without proper licensing. If found in violation of this law, you may be subject to a prison sentence and fines to be determined by the intended plant use.
The cultivation of marijuana is legal for both recreational users and medical marijuana card holders.
The laws are as follows:
- Growers may have up to 12 plants per household.
- You can keep any amount of marijuana flower if it is harvested from your plants.
- Marijuana plants must be grown or stored in a locked and enclosed space.
- Outdoor plants must not be visible to the public without binoculars, drones, or similar devices.
Keep in mind that having unsecured or visible plants is punishable by a fine of up to $100, having over 12-24 plants is punishable by a fine of $500, and having 25 plants or more is a misdemeanor with penalties to be determined depending on the cultivator’s intentions.
Following Michigan’s Marijuana laws can help you avoid criminal charges and possible fines.
Consumers may have:
- Up to 10 ounces at home
- Up to 2.5 ounces away from home
- Up to 15 grams of cannabis concentrates (hash, rosin, cannabutter, shatter, etc.)
- Up to 16 ounces of cannabis-infused products in solid form (capsules, lozenges, edibles, etc.)
- Up to 7 grams of cannabis-infused products in a gaseous state (handheld vapes, vaporizers, etc.)
- Up to 36 fluid ounces of cannabis-infused products in liquid form (beverages, tonics, syrups, etc.)
- Up to 12 cannabis plants
If a marijuana consumer is found to have more cannabis in their possession than legally allowed, they may be charged with a misdemeanor and fined up to $500.
Additionally, smoking in public or in a parked or moving vehicle is strictly prohibited, and you may be charged with public intoxication or a DUI.
Michigan has strict transportation laws as the state takes driving under the influence seriously.
When traveling with cannabis, remember the following:
- Consumers may bring up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana with them when leaving home.
- Cannabis brought outside the home must be in a sealed and labeled package and kept inside the vehicle’s trunk. If your vehicle does not have a trunk, you must store the product in a place that is not easily accessible from the vehicle’s interior.
- Driving under the influence of cannabis is treated the same as driving intoxicated by alcohol and is strictly prohibited.
- Consumers may not transport cannabis across state lines.
- Cannabis must not be exported to another individual in or out of the state. Forms of transportation include driving, shipping, mailing, flying, and boating.
- Medical Marijuana patients can be issued out-of-state cards for traveling.
Consumers that violate transportation laws may be charged up to $250, and violating exportation laws may result in up to five years in prison and a $250,000 fine.
In summary, adults over 21 may have up to 10 ounces of cannabis at home, 2.5 ounces in their vehicle, and up to 12 secured plants that are not visible to the public. Additionally, the sale, exportation, out-of-state transportation, and public consumption of marijuana are strictly prohibited.